Perla Bautista

Perla Bautista


Perla Bautista was born on Feb 18, 1940 in Philippines. Perla Bautista's big-screen debut came with Malvarosa directed by Gregorio Fernandez in 1958. Perla Bautista is known for Suarez: The Healing Priest directed by Joven Tan, Gina Pareño stars as Handicapped Woman and Jindric Macapagal as Ado Suarez. Perla Bautista has got 6 awards and 15 nominations so far. The most recent award Perla Bautista achieved is Star Awards for Movies. The upcoming new movie Perla Bautista plays is Suarez: The Healing Priest which will be released on Dec 25, 2020.

Perla Bautista was born in Feb 18, 1940, in Manila, the fifth of eight children of Carmen Marcial and Vicente Bautista. She finished secondary education at Torres High School and enrolled in Commerce at the Lyceum of the Philippines. At 17, Ms. Bautista took on bit parts until she was formally introduced in Eddie Junior Detective (1958). She appeared in many dramatic films such as Malvarosa (1958), Anak ni Waray (1958), Casa Grande (1958), Ana Maria (1958), Hiwaga ng Pag-Ibig (1958), and Venganza (1958) opposite heartthrob Mario Montenegro. She also appeared in Barrio Fiesta (1959) and Mr. Announcer (1959), Black Beauty (1960) with Charito Solis, and Kung Ako'y Iiwan Mo (1960). She was given the lead role in Kilabot sa Baril (1960), opposite Zaldy Zshornack. Her other films include Crush Ko Si Sir (1971); Tatlo, Dalawa, Isa (1974); Sa Kagubatan ng Lunsod (1975); Bawal na Pag-Ibig (1977) and Laruan (1983). Ms Bautista has acted opposite Nora Aunor in some 10 films, including Minsa'y isang gamugamo (1976), Sapin-sapin, patung-patong (1977), Bakekang (1978), Bulaklak ng City Jail (1985), Till We Meet Again (1985), Bilangin Mo Ang Bituin Sa Langit (1989), and Andrea, paano ba ang maging isang ina? (1990). She also starred as Tiya Isabel in the television movie Noli Me Tangere (1992), produced by the Cultural Center of the Philippines. Ms Bautista won the Filipino Academy of Movie Arts & Sciences (FAMAS) Best Actress award for Markang Rehas (1962) opposite Joseph Estrada, also the Best Actor awardee. She has also won FAMAS supporting acting awards for Alamat ni Julian Makabayan (1979), Nang Bumuka ang Sampaguita (1980) and Bulaklak ng City Jail (1984). She won the Best Supporting Actress award from the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino (URIAN AWARDS) for Anak ng Cabron (1988).

  • Birthday

    Feb 18, 1940
  • Place of Birth

    Manila, Philippines

Known For


6 wins & 15 nominations

Star Awards for Movies
Winner - Lifetime Achievement Award
Gawad Urian Awards
Best Supporting Actress (Pinakamahusay na Pangalawang Aktres)
Winner - Gawad Urian Award
Anak ng cabron (1988)
Show more

Movies & TV Shows

TV Shows